VirtualBox

June 4, 2008 at 12:21 pm 1 comment

VirtualBox

Sorry I haven’t posted much (in any of my blogs)- life and work have been a bit overwhelming lately.

I wanted to post the above because it is incredible- a FREE product that I think actually works better than VM-Ware in Linux. I run almost everything either natively or under Wine, but am running MS Outlook in VirtualBox simply because there is no good alternative and I have to use it for work. My TomTom won’t work under Wine either, so I’ll be trying to install it in VirtualBox as-well. Even the newest Outlook Web Access (Exchange 2007) is crippled for Firefox. Evolution was flaky at best using Exchange 2003, and doesn’t work at all with Exchange 2007. Of course- I blame Microsoft.

BTW- I have been an avid Ubuntu user (at home) for almost two years now. I should have marked the exact date, but I believe it has also been close to a year since I wiped Windows completely off my work laptop.

One major issue I had with Ubuntu Hardy Heron (the most recent release) is easy access to Windows shares (either authenticated Samba or Active Directory) through Nautilus has been borked due to a switch to gvfs. There is no “official” fix in the repositories yet, but someone wrote a patch that fixes the problem. There are instructions here:

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/gvfs/+bug/207072

There is a lot of discussion in the bug report, but look for and download the patch provided by @darkrain42, then use the patching instructions provided by @Renzo Bagnati. I made some additional comments as far as patching goes- @wolfwitch.

I recommend actually installing the patch, as opposed to downloading the binary available in the bug comments. I don’t see it so much as a security issue as a compatibility one- if you compile it yourself- you know it will work as designed for your system. Also of note- it is for i386 only- NOT 64-bit.

Entry filed under: General.

XP lives! Sort of. | Computerworld Blogs Python

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. neowolfwitch  |  June 4, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    I should have re-worded that last sentence. The PATCH will work for any version (32-bit or 64-bit). It’s the binary that was posted that is only good for 32-bit.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Wolf's Del.icio.us

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

