Ubuntu/iTunes

March 24, 2008 at 9:09 am Leave a comment

I posted a rant last week about how I hate iTunes because I can’t play my iTunes music in Linux, and I’m pissed off that I have $200+ in music there that I no longer have access to (except on my ancient G4 with no CD burner).

Well- iTunes WORKS in the latest version of WINE.

Said latest version of Wine isn’t in the official Ubuntu repositories, so you need to grab it directly from WineHQ:

http://winehq.org/site/download-deb

Of course, if it works on Ubuntu, it probably works on all the other distros as-well. 🙂

Also- if you missed it- Hardy Heron Beta 1 is now out! I’ve been happily running the Alpha versions on one of my work laptops (with all of 256MB of RAM!) and my home desktop for a couple of weeks now. It seems to me to be very stable and fast, and I haven’t really had any major problems with it other than a bit of video card flakiness (which is a given anyway).

You can download development (as well as actual released) versions of Ubuntu here:

http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/releases/

Entry filed under: Apple, DRM, Linux.

Damn You Vista! winetricks – The Official Wine Wiki

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Wolf's Del.icio.us

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

