Toshiba expected to announce death of HD DVD tomorrow, stop sales by March

February 18, 2008 at 2:18 pm Leave a comment

Toshiba expected to announce death of HD DVD tomorrow, stop sales by March – Engadget

It’s been “called” be a lot of people in the last few days. This will finalize it.

I find it interesting, based on the comments to this Engadget article, how many people hate Sony as much as I do, and how many people want Toshiba to compensate them in some way (which I don’t).

Listen- I knew when I shelled out the money for an HD DVD player that there was at least a 50% chance it would be useless when/if the current “format war” was won. It’s one of the risks you take as an “early adopter”. I don’t feel Toshiba or any of the HD DVD backers owe me anything. (Well- actually- they still owe me the 5-free HD DVDs I still haven’t received!)

My secret (okay, not anymore) fantasy is that Toshiba built their HD DVD players so they can be converted to Blu-Ray with a firmware update… I can dream, can’t I?

Entry filed under: Blu-Ray, HD DVD, Home Theater.

Wal-Mart to officially discontinue HD DVD sales by June Convert Your HD DVDs to Blu-Ray

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Wolf's Del.icio.us

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

