Gutsy Gibbon Video Problems – One Solution

October 16, 2007 at 4:59 am 1 comment

Well sort-of.

After upgrading my desktop computer to the latest build of Gutsy Gibbon, my X desktop wouldn’t start. Well- actually it would- but for some reason kept trying to drive my monitor (or video card) outside an acceptable range, effectively disabling it. I had similar problems with my laptop.

The “solution”: Boot into recovery mode and delete: /etc/X11/xorg.conf
(You may want to actually copy it to a backup file.)

Normally this will trigger Ubuntu’s configuration program to re-select your video card and monitor. For some reason in Gutsy- it doesn’t. It also doesn’t rebuild the file. I’m not sure where it even stores the Xorg configuration data, but both of my systems are operating fine without one now, and with no video issues.

The only problem I still have is I can’t get desktop effects (Compiz) to work on my laptop. I’m sure I can figure it out with more playing around and Google. I still love Ubuntu!

Entry filed under: General, Linux.

Ubuntu 7.10 (Gutsy Gibbon) Daily Build Microsoft’s Office-Phone Foray

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. neowolfwitch  |  October 16, 2007 at 6:40 am

    Well, I did finally get Compiz/Desktop Effects (Eyecandy) working on the Lappy.

    I had to create a basic xorg.conf file and manually install xserver-xgl and associated libraries, along with the proprietary ATI driver (which I was previously told didn’t work with Compiz, but apparently does).

    Still not sure why my desktop with Compiz is working fantastically on the OSS ATI driver with no xorg.conf file at all.

    So- now I am a happy camper. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Wolf's Del.icio.us

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

