Ubuntu Gutsy Gibbon

October 3, 2007 at 3:25 am Leave a comment

I’ll probably post a lot about it this month…

I’ve been playing with the current Tribe (Beta) version. So far- I love it even more than previous versions. The biggest thing I love- wireless on my Dell laptop actually works! I’ve been trying to get it to work with NDISWrapper for several months now with no luck. After upgrading to Gutsy- it works perfectly! WPA even works without having to edit the WPA Supplicant config manually.

I can’t get desktop effects to work (crappy ATI laptop video), but that will probably change now that ATI has started releasing their proprietary architecture information to OSS developers.

It is still in Beta- by I whole-heartedly recommend Gutsy to anyone willing to give Linux a try. Especially to those who are sick of Windows XP and/or disenchanted with Vista.

Along those lines- I’m getting fed up with Vista. It wasn’t as bad as I thought, but there are little annoyances that keep building up. The first is it seems to take 2-3x the number of mouse clicks to accomplish most tasks than in XP. This is a problem for me as I have tendinitis in my “mouse hand” and now have to limit my mouse use. I also have ongoing video issues, especially with my dual-screen setup. I use one screen above my laptop screen to extend my desktop vertically, but Vista keeps changing it to a horizontal setup. I also still get lock-ups and BSODs at least once a day.

Entry filed under: Malware, Microsoft, Wireless Networking.

Woman sues over Apple’s iPhone price cut Slashdot | Sun Refuses LGPL for OpenOffice; Novell forks

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Wolf's Del.icio.us

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

