10 Advantages of Ubuntu over Vista

July 6, 2007 at 6:25 am 1 comment

10 Advantages of Ubuntu over Vista

Great little article about ten great reasons to use Ubuntu over Vista. I won’t go into one of my rants about how much Vista (and its predecessor XP) suck… If you are tired of overpriced and slow software with terrible technical support that provides a playground for virus and other malware writers- check out Ubuntu!

Entry filed under: General, Linux, Microsoft.

Sprint breaks up with high-maintenance customers Confessions of a Linux Fan: 10 Things You Might Want To Know Before Switching Over To Linux

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. neowolfwitch  |  July 6, 2007 at 7:19 am

    Well, his server tanked, or maybe he reached a hosting limit. I was going to reply directly to his blog entry, but since it is down- I’ll post it here and maybe copy it over later…

    For Simnor:

    Wow- the Windows and now Mac fanboys are certainly out to play…

    Listen folks- Simnor chose to share HIS reasons for liking Ubuntu over Vista. Note that last part (and also the title of his blog post)- he wasn’t comparing it to XP- he was comparing it to VISTA. The comparisons some are making to XP are irrelevant, as they have nothing to do with Simnor’s post.

    I personally agree with most of them. I run Ubuntu exclusively at home, and duel-boot it at work because my company can’t survive without Outlook/Exchange, and I can’t use wireless (more on that below) in Ubuntu. I also run a mid-size enterprise and the majority of my servers run Linux (CentOS and Ubuntu).

    I decided a couple of years ago that I have better things to do with my life than play computer games, so that isn’t a factor. Like most- I will kill time playing solitaire, minesweeper, or sudoku every so often, and the ones that come with Ubuntu work just as well as the ones in Windows.

    The only other thing I use Windows or OS-X for (I have a Mac too) is to buy and download music from iTunes. Hopefully at some point Apple will get a clue and port iTunes to Linux. Since OS-X is FreeBSD-based- it really shouldn’t be all that damn hard. I just convert the DRM-ed tunes to regular AAC files and play them with Amarok on Ubuntu.

    I only have two complaints about Ubuntu (and every other desktop Linux distribution):

    1. Crappy support for ATI (AMD) video cards, which is actually the fault of ATI/AMD. They won’t release details of their architecture necessary to write really good drivers to the OSS community, and their own drivers leave a LOT to be desired. Then again- there is no need to waste your money on a $200+ video card with Ubuntu- a $39 generic Made-In-China one will work just as well, and usually better. There is also almost no hell like trying to get a dual-screen setup to work right on a wide-screen laptop, especially if you have to toggle between 1 and 2-screen setups. I understand support for NVIDIA cards is much better. Unfortunately- at least for my laptop- I didn’t have that choice.

    2. God-awful wireless support. Also not really the fault of Ubuntu or Linux in-general. In my case- I blame Dell. Of course- now that Dell is ramping up more support for Ubuntu- hopefully they will turn out some native drivers for their wireless cards. NDIS-wrapper is not a reasonable solution for me, and that’s only the tip of the iceburg when you then factor in trying to get WPA to work.

    Still- Ubuntu IMHO is the absolute best desktop Linux yet, and beats Vista by a landslide if you actually want to do work on your computer. It has a great balance of “eye candy” with functionality, doesn’t take forever to boot or shut down, is updated frequently, and there are thousands of free alternatives to expensive and slow M$ and other Windows apps out there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Wolf's Del.icio.us

July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

