The top 10 dead (or dying) computer skills

May 25, 2007 at 6:13 am Leave a comment

The top 10 dead (or dying) computer skills

This list is great…

I can’t believe COBOL is still in-use, but I suppose there are still a lot of legacy apps running on mainframes out there.

I’d say the same for Non-Relational DBMS, except that I know there is still one department in my company that is using old Paradox and Access tables. I’ve tried to get them moved to MySQL several times- but they just keep holding on to them. Eventually it will get to the point where it just won’t run. SQL is just mind-boggling for them.

Macromedia/Adobe Coldfusion can burn in hell as far as I’m concerned.

One thing I disagree with is the author’s assertion of the impending doom of Network Administrators. Small business and home networks are pretty-much plug-and-play now, but large corporations and companies with a large Internet presence have complex networking needs and need professionals to architect and manage them. This really becomes true as more companies move to VoIP and VCoIP solutions which involve QoS and VLAN tagging and more robust and fault tolerant networking systems. I suppose I could just be biased too- as it’s what I do for a living…

Lastly- Netware and OS/2. Are you kidding me?! Linux largely replaced these several years ago. I suppose the remnants of these will go away with COBOL.

Entry filed under: General, Linux.

Dear Adobe: What the hell happened to you? We’re all Linux users

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Wolf's Del.icio.us

May 2007
M T W T F S S
    Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

