Automatix

May 15, 2007 at 6:50 pm 1 comment

Automatix

I tried installing this when I first started running Ubuntu last year, and couldn’t get it to work. Well- I got it to work now and it is fantastic! This would have saved me hours of Googling for different drivers and finding media players and plug-ins. Even today- it has a lot of stuff I didn’t know about, and I’ve been running Ubuntu exclusively at home for the better part of 8 months.

It only works for Ubuntu and other Debian distributions, which I would recommend anyway for desktop users. Even if you are a desktop Linux veteran- you might want to try it out if you haven’t yet.

Entry filed under: General.

Migrating to Ubuntu Linux from Microsoft Windows Linus Torvalds Responds To Microsoft Patent Claims

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. neowolfwitch  |  May 16, 2007 at 8:12 am

    Just an update on this…

    I’d recommend Automatix only on a fresh install, not if you are like me and have already done all the legwork and manually installed all of the drivers, codecs, media players, etc., that Automatix installs.

    Unfortunately it messed up a few things on my system. They were easily fixed by me- but I could see it being a problem for someone newer to desktop Linux.

    So- I still say- this should be the first thing you install and run on a new Linux desktop.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Wolf's Del.icio.us

May 2007
M T W T F S S
    Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

